I didn’t do the laundry

I don’t want or need a clean house. I have to have a clean house.

Seriously, it’s a requirement for me.

There’s just something about the fresh smell when I sweep and mop.

Also, how appealing an empty sink looks.

It’s so pleasing having the clothes washed, dried, folded, and put away.

Cleaning is an outlet for me. I feel so much joy and accomplishment when there is no clutter and my house is nearly spotless.

I am, indeed, a “neat freak”

However, today, I didn’t do the laundry. Today, I let it all go. 

That’s right, I didn’t clean anything.

There’s still a basket of clothes that needs folding and putting away.

Dishes from lunch that still need washing.

The floor still needs to be swept, at least. It wouldn’t hurt it to have a good mopping.

But today I chose to ignore all of that.

Instead, I opted to spend time with my husband. 

He works fourteen days a month, sometimes more. Every workday is twelve hours at his job and about an hour commute.

Thankfully, it’s recently been reduced to about thirteen hours each day away from home, as opposed to the seventeen hours it used to be.

I have a full time job, as well.

Therefore, if you count time in commute, at work, and asleep, that’s less than half a year of real time to spend together.

So, today I chose to reorganize my day and spend it all with him and enjoy my life without the worry of laundry.

If today were my last day, I would want it to be spent having fun with my favorite human rather than with a basket of laundry. 

I’m not neglecting my household responsibilities, but I can do housework one day when he is at work, again. 

So, today I didn’t do the laundry. 

If you have something more important to tend to in your life today, should you do your laundry either? 


Well wishes,

AW

3 thoughts on “I didn’t do the laundry

Leave a Reply

